How to Watch WWDC 2021 Keynote Livestream


After months of waiting, WWDC is due to kick off later today. Much like last year’s annual developer conference, WWDC 2021 is set to be a virtual affair, with developers able to access a week’s worth of workshops from the comfort of their own homes – and completely free of charge too.

Despite the dev-only focus, Apple holds a keynote event on the first day of the show to reveal the next big upgrades to iOS, iPadOS, macOS, watchOS and tvOS, and there’s a hardware launch every now and again too. 

Here, we outline all you need to know about tuning in to the WWDC 2021 keynote.

When is the WWDC 2021 keynote?

WWDC 2021 is set to kick off today, Monday 7 June, returning to its regular schedule after a delayed late-June WWDC last year. The opening keynote is set to kick off at 10am PDT at Apple Park in California, which translates to the following times depending on where you are:

US (West Coast): 7 June, 10am PDT
US (Central): 7 June, 12pm CDT
US (East Coast): 7 June, 1pm EDT
UK: 7 June, 6pm BST
Europe: 7 June, 7pm CEST
Australia (West): 8 June, 1am AWST
Australia (Central): 8 June, 2:30am ACST
Australia (East): 8 June, 3am AEST

How to watch the WWDC 2021 livestream from home

While Apple’s WWDC keynotes were initially exclusively available via Apple devices and Apple browsers, the company has expanded support to a range of devices and software – both on Mac and Windows – in recent years.

With that being said, it’s easier than ever to tune in to the WWDC 2021 livestream from the comfort of your own home – the method simply depends on the device you’ll be using to watch.

Watch on iPhone, iPad and Mac

When it comes to Apple’s main devices – iPhone, iPad and Mac – it’s easy to tune in. Apple recommends that you’re running iOS 10 or later on iPhone or iPad and macOS Sierra 10.12 or later on a Mac for the best experience, but it’s entirely possible that the stream will work on older devices too. 

To watch along, simply head over to the Apple Event page on the device of your choice. In addition, you’ve got the option of using the Apple TV app if you’re running a more recent version of iOS, iPadOS or macOS.  

You’ll also be able to download the keynote via the Apple TV app post-stream, allowing you to catch up if you couldn’t tune in live. 

Watch on Apple TV

As long as you’re not still running the first-gen box from 2007, you’ll be able to watch the WWDC 2021 keynote via your Apple TV. Simply head to the Apple Events app and select WWDC 2021. 

Watch on PC 

Apple recommends using the official Microsoft Edge browser if you want to watch the keynote via Windows 10, but you’re able to watch the stream via Google Chrome, Firefox and just about any other browser that supports MSE, H.264 and AAC encoding.

Regardless of the browser you choose, you need only head to the Apple Event page to tune in. 

Watch on Android

Yes, you can even access the WWDC 2021 livestream via Android. As mentioned above, Apple has widened support to allow both Chrome and Firefox to stream the event, so you’ll be able to stream from your Android via the mobile version of Google Chrome. Simply head to the Apple Events page to get started.

Watch on YouTube

For the first time, Apple is also streaming the WWDC 2021 keynote via YouTube, allowing you to watch the announcement from any device that allows access to YouTube. We’ve embedded the YouTube stream at the top of the page for ease, but you can head directly to the YouTube stream too. 


Source link

The owner of this website is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon properties including, but not limited to, amazon.com, endless.com, myhabit.com, smallparts.com, or amazonwireless.com.
Home Privacy Policy Terms Of Use Anti Spam Policy Contact us Affiliate Disclosure DMCA Earnings Disclaimer