How to Watch Marvel Movies in Order

Across more than a decade and an incredible number of films, TV shows, web series, and one-shots, the MCU has sprawled in size, and even for the most ardent Marvel fans it’s a serious challenge to both watch everything and keep your head around the timeline.

We’ve put together a chronological timeline of the Marvel movies, shows, and more, so you know which order to watch the Marvel movies in. For the moment, watching them in chronological order arguably makes more sense than watching in the jumbled release date order.

Marvel has also issued its own official timeline for the movies in the book Marvel Studios: The First Ten Years, which does its best to give specific years for when the various films are set (up to, but not including, Captain Marvel & Avengers: Endgame):

1943-1945: Captain America: The First Avenger
1995: Captain Marvel
2010: Iron Man
2011: Iron Man 2, The Incredible Hulk, Thor
2012: The Avengers, Iron Man 3
2013: Thor: The Dark World
2014: Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Guardians of the Galaxy, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
2015: Avengers: Age of Ultron, Ant-Man
2016: Captain America: Civil War, Spider-Man: Homecoming
2016/2017: Doctor Strange
2017: Black Panther, Thor: Ragnarok, Avengers: Infinity War, Ant-Man & the Wasp
How to watch the Marvel movies and TV shows in chronological order

There are a couple of disclaimers to our list below. First up, the timeline gets more complex as it goes on, so it gets harder to order the films perfectly. For example, Doctor Strange begins just before Captain America: Civil War, but takes a time jump and ends way after it, while Black Panther kicks off shortly after Civil War, but the whole story likely plays out before the bulk of Doctor Strange.

It doesn’t help that Marvel broke its own timeline. There are a few little inconsistencies dotted around the place, but the most egregious is Spider-Man: Homecoming, which claims to take place eight years after the New York attack in the first Avengers. That would set the film in 2020 – two or three years after Avengers: Infinity War, which Marvel itself claims is set in 2017 despite ample evidence that the Snap took place in the spring of 2018.

It’s a pretty minor gaffe in the scheme of things, but it’s a reminder not to take the MCU’s chronological timeline too seriously – even Marvel itself can’t keep it all straight, so as long as you watch things in about the right order you’ll be fine.

If you want the visual cliff notes, Marvel has now released every single post-credit scene up to Endgame (including Captain Marvel’s) in order in one giant Twitter thread, so you can revisit every little tease as they built the MCU up.

MCU timeline

We’ve split everything into Marvel’s ‘phases’, but there are some grey areas: Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 was made within Phase Three, but is set almost immediately after its predecessor; Captain Marvel was one of the final Phase Three films, but is set before most of Phase One; and some of the TV shows sit awkwardly between the different movie phases.

Without further ado, here’s our chronological ordering of the Marvel film universe as it stands right now. The films are in italics, TV shows are not. You can watch the majority of the films and shows by signing up for Disney Plus, with the exception of the two Spider-Man films, the Netflix Marvel shows and a few other titles – these are marked with an asterisk. You can also find the full list in our complete guide to Marvel on Disney Plus.

Phase One
Phase Two
Item 47 (one-shot — Avengers DVD/Blu-ray)*
Iron Man 3
All Hail the King (one-shot – Thor: The Dark World DVD/Blu-ray)*
Agents of Shield (season one: episodes 1 — 7)
Thor: The Dark World
Agents of Shield (season one: episodes 8 — 16)
Captain America: The Winter Soldier
Agents of Shield (season one: episodes 17 — 22)
Guardians of the Galaxy
Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
Daredevil (season one)*
Agents of Shield (season two: episodes 1 — 19)
Avengers: Age of Ultron
Agents of Shield (season two: episodes 20 — 22)
Jessica Jones (season one)*
Daredevil (season two)*
Agents of Shield (season three: episodes 1 — 19)
Phase Three
Captain America: Civil War
Agents of Shield (season three: episodes 20 — 22)
Luke Cage (season one)*
Spider-Man: Homecoming*
Agents of Shield (season four: episodes 1 — 8)
Doctor Strange
Agents of Shield: Slingshot (web series)*
Agents of Shield (season four: episodes 9 — 22)
Black Panther
Iron Fist (season one)*
The Defenders (season one)*
The Punisher (season one)*
Runaways (season one and two)
Jessica Jones (season two)*
Cloak and Dagger (season one)*
Luke Cage (season two)*
Iron Fist (season two)*
Daredevil (season three)*
The Punisher (season two)*
Jessica Jones (season three)*
Cloak and Dagger (season two)*
Runaways (season three)*
Agents of Shield (season five, episodes 1 — 19)
Ant-Man and The Wasp
Thor: Ragnarok
Avengers: Infinity War
Agents of Shield (season five, episodes 20 – 22)
Agents of Shield (season six)*
Avengers: Endgame
Spider-Man: Far From Home*
Agents of Shield (season seven)*
Phase 4 – To be released

Phase 4 has been somewhat delayed in 2020 with the global pandemic, but Black Widow, The Eternals and an untitled Spider-Man movie are all still expected to appear within 2021.

Marvel has also confirmed that 2022’s Black Panther 2 will go ahead as planned, despite the untimely death of lead actor Chadwick Boseman. Black Panther himself will not be recast, but the film will continue to explore the world of Wakanda.

Black Widow
The Eternals
Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
Untitled Spider-Man movie
Thor: Love and Thunder
Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness
Black Panther 2
Captain Marvel 2
Ant-Man 3
Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3
Untitled Fantastic Four film
Upcoming Marvel TV shows
The Falcon and the Winter Soldier
What If…?
Ms Marvel
Moon Knight

* – not available on Disney Plus

Read next: How to watch Star Wars in order

Source link

The owner of this website is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon properties including, but not limited to,,,,, or
Home Privacy Policy Terms Of Use Anti Spam Policy Contact us Affiliate Disclosure DMCA Earnings Disclaimer